Skip to content

If you can’t go to the mountain, let the mountain come to you

14/08/2012

or looking for a needle in a hay stack (with a magnet)

I’ll keep this post short, very short, as time is slipping away….

Literature Review – During my absence, I received some great articles, theses, dissertations on the use of SL in language teaching and learning. So now I don’t really have an excuse to review them. I’ll keep it short, as the general ideas is really about what other researchers have ‘asked’ and investigated in this field. It shouldn’t take too long (famous last words!)

ASCILITE 2012  – again during my absence, I was contacted by the Ascilite committee to submit my abstract properly, as I ran out of time just prior to my absence (the details of which I won’t go into right now as I’m trying to keep this blog entry very short). My abstract was accepted but I needed to write a 4-page outline of the research project, the work in process. Well, I missed the deadline hence the opportunity. I asked (very nicely) for some extra time but to no avail. I’m beginning to realise that the only people allow extension on projects are the tutors/supervisors 🙂

Overview of the draft report – well, this is by far the longest part so it won’t be included in this blog post! But, have a look at the previous entries for a hand-drawn image of the draft report. A picture is worth a thousand words.

Last but not least – the trial lesson in SL will go ahead but not with FL students 😦 I’ll be teaching ‘Kiwi English’ in SL for those who are already in SL and may be located anywhere in the world. It’ll feel as though I’ll be moonlighting but cannot be helped.

Here it is! the ultra-short version of the research project which is due in less than 3 months! Argh! Time, time, I need more time! But if I put it off any longer, I’ll have to write a new piece of literature review as the topic of MUVE is constantly changing. New research is coming out almost everyday! Here’s another one (from my previous blog entry):

Preparing language teachers to teach in virtual worlds: Analyzing their content, technological, and pedagogical needs

Thank you for reading this far 🙂

Comments are closed.

