Skip to content

The Poster Session

15/10/2012

Only 29 days to go!

Yep, that’s what it says on the counter, at the bottom of this blog. When did that happen, I’ll never know. Nobody really told me, but I think I heard the minutes ticking away…

Anyway, without being ‘too dramatic’, I think I’ve got it under control (she says it with some trepidation), thanks to the CLESOL 2012 Conference on Sat 6th Oct, 10.55, to be exact. Yep, that’s when I presented to a whole room full of people of 6, about my current research project. I actually wanted to present the full, finished project, but those of you who know me would also know that my greatest strength has not always been around time management.

However, the presentation went well! I used Adobe Connect to stream live from Second Life, only to forget to click the record button. You just have to take my word for it that I did it! All in all, it helped me to crystalise my thoughts, ideas, opinions and most importantly what I’d like to achieve with my research project. I tidied up the literature review, made an outline of the aims, problem questions, methodology, findings, recommendations and the conclusions. Yes, it’s all in point form, and I know that I’ll have to convert those points to approximately 10, 000 words, but now I know it’s feasible – to my surprise (and perhaps to my supervisor’s – Dr Clare Atkins!)

Where to from here? I still need to make recordings of a couple of interviews, as I’ve only got the data from previous interviews, without any recording, and evidence is everything! I still need to send out the survey questions, and I can have a maximum of 100 – hmmm, interesting thought. This is the triangulation process, to make it more credible, and then comes the actual analysis.

What was my research project again? That’s right, version #2345, Second Life calling – language learners communicating across the globeI’ll probably change it again for another 345 times before the report gets printed but such is Second Life. 

2 Comments
  1. 16/10/2012 3:39 am

    Yep, I’ve forgotten the record button in the past too 🙂 You say you used Adobe Connect. Does that only record your voice or that of the audience in SL too? I normally use Camtasia and have to use Hijack (and Garageband, ‘cos I use a Mac) in order to record everyone’s voices.

    • kiwibelma permalink
      16/10/2012 4:05 pm

      Thanks timjohnson. I used Adobe Connect to make a presentation in another city, as I couldn’t go to the conference in person. But only ‘showed’ Second Life so no audio 😦
      I did all the talking and the audience typed the questions in the txt chat – very primitive indeed but at least they were able to see SL!
      Thank you for the tips on Camtasia & Hijack, I’ll have a go after the research project is complete 🙂

Comments are closed.

