Skip to content

My Second Life Renaissance

12/03/2013

Born again?

Well, you could say that… Let me start with the negatives (just to get them out of the way). Last year wasn’t a good one for me in terms of my involvement in Second Life. I received a number of messages from two groups indicating that I’d be losing my membership (be thrown out of the group) as I haven’t been ‘active’. These are the groups where I conducted my interviews for my project last year.

Speaking of which, I ran out of time to submit my report, which takes me full circle to having a bad year last year. Ah, one more thing, I couldn’t introduce any of my FL students [First Life, could also be Foreign Language…] to SL – the PC Lab installation was, let’s say, complicated.

The list just goes on but I won’t as it’s too embarrassing! But that’s enough about the negatives. Now the silver cloud, or is it the lining in the sky? It’s getting late downunder and I’ll need to get up early tomorrow morning so I’ll keep this short.

The PC Lab – is about to be up and running! Some good friends are doing their best to make that happen. They’re probably wondering why I’m so obsessed with SL but I think they’ve come to accept it 🙂

A new form of collaboration is about to take place. A new colleague is undertaking a PhD, yep, a PhD in Second Life! And, if I understand correctly, it’ll involve CyberAmber teaching English in Koru! I can hardly wait!

Last but not least, the course I could not complete last year, has changed its name! Perhaps it’s going through renaissance…As a result, I’d like to do the same! New Year, New Lab, New Course, New Project (well, slightly modified). Not to mention a new PC (on loan).

So, to celebrate, I’ve created a machinima clip. It’s uploading to YouTube as I type these lines, with the message indicating “224 minutes remaining”. I’ll have to go to bed I’m afraid but will place the link here in the morning. (There is no sound, but you may wish to watch it to the tune of ‘Burlesque’ by Christina Aguilera 🙂

3 Comments
  1. 12/03/2013 11:47 pm

    Oh I recognise all of the negatives only too well 🙂 been there, done that, got the T-shirt, so to speak. Do not despair, SL will still give you lots of fun things to do with your teaching. Good Luck KiwiBelma

    • 13/03/2013 6:38 am

      Thanks timjohnson! It’s a bumpy ride but somebody’s got to do it I suppose 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. My Second Life Renaissance | Second Life Calling | Scoop.it

Comments are closed.

